Facebook Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram Tiktok Icon YouTube Icon Headphones Icon Favorite Navigation Search Icon Forum Search Icon Main Search Icon Close Icon Video Play Icon Indicator Arrow Icon Close Icon Hamburger/Search Icon Plus Icon Arrow Down Icon Video Guide Icon Article Guide Icon Modal Close Icon Guide Search Icon

Conversational Threads

Activa 230 problem

cookymom | Posted in General Discussion on

Everyone,

I am quilting fabric for a sewing class tomorrow.   I’ve been told to quilt the fabric in diamonds and started stitching this morning following a diagonal line.

The trouble is that the bottom fabric that I carefully ironed and pin basted is moving and I’m getting tucks that need to come out and be sewn again so the fabric looks good from both sides.

I am new to quilting and wondered if there was a solution to this problem?  The fabric shifting also happened while I was making my first quilt.  Maybe there’s an adjustment on the machine that can help?  Yes, I am using a walking foot.

Thanks.

Replies

1. Betakin | | #1

Aha, I was going to suggest a walking foot but since you are using one alread, I suggest if your machine has a foot pressure adjustment to try adjusting the pressure. If you have no pressure adjustment..maybe try using your hands to slightly separate the fabric on each side of the foot or in front or behind of the foot (which ever way the fabric is bunching) without actually stretching it but just to make it feed through flatly. something tells me you might have already tried this..but good luck to you.  

1. cookymom | | #2

I asked the same question at a quilting workshop.  I am going to clean the feed dogs again and hope there's some improvement.  Thanks for the suggestions.  It may be time for an adjustment.

2. Palady | | #3

You might consider placing a quality wax paper strip atop the feed dogs.  By quality I mean something other than the "economy" brands often sold in Dollar Stores.