Facebook Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram Tiktok Icon YouTube Icon Headphones Icon Favorite Navigation Search Icon Forum Search Icon Main Search Icon Close Icon Video Play Icon Indicator Arrow Icon Close Icon Hamburger/Search Icon Plus Icon Arrow Down Icon Video Guide Icon Article Guide Icon Modal Close Icon Guide Search Icon

Conversational Threads

Burda #8991 – pants pattern

Gaelen_G | Posted in Patterns on

Just wondering if anyone has tried the Burda cropped pants pattern #8991, which was recommended in Threads this month. How is the fit? I am thinking about making them, but I’ve been disappointed by most of the pants patterns I’ve tried, even though I have pretty “typical” proportions. Thanks!

Replies

1. Elona_Masson | | #1

Gaelen, although I haven't made the Burda cropped pants, I have a lot of experience with Burda patterns, and I can tell you that Burda has about the best pants-fitting pattern you can find. The cut is WAY different from the American patterns, and much more like a real person's bottom. I would recommend getting the pattern and some inexpensive fabric to make a first pair. Do the measurements exactly as the instructions tell you to (this is important for getting the size right) and then use the appropriate cutting or tracing lines (if you want to save the pattern intact). You will probably be pleasantly surprised.

1. Marion_Lane | | #2

*I'm a South African who has recently discovered threads magazine which I think is just wonderful. I'm hoping there is someone out there who can help me with changing the style of a basic pants pattern. I have made the Burda *3752 basic pants pattern and have got it to fit. Now I would like to make some variations to my pants. I would like to know how to change them to flat fronted and elasticated at the back and how I can add some fullness in the thigh area, another words softer pants but not wide legged at the bottom.

1. Getulia_Kress | | #3