Facebook Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram Tiktok Icon YouTube Icon Headphones Icon Favorite Navigation Search Icon Forum Search Icon Main Search Icon Close Icon Video Play Icon Indicator Arrow Icon Close Icon Hamburger/Search Icon Plus Icon Arrow Down Icon Video Guide Icon Article Guide Icon Modal Close Icon Guide Search Icon

Conversational Threads

Elna 745 Serger

jola | Posted in Equipment and Supplies on

Hi,
I’m new here and joined because I’m looking for a serger. I am new to sergers and the Elna 745 sounds like it has the features I want. I am wondering if anyone has bought a 745 and IYO how does it compare to the 744. I have read a lot of good reviews of the 744. Is it still possible to buy one?

Replies

1. Betakin | | #1

I have owned several sergers and used to sell them. I like my 744 better than any I have owned and it is heavy duty. I love the automatic tension and tilt needle bar of the Elna's plus the easy change over to Cover Hem and stitch off of coverhem. You can probably still find a 744 around but I believe the 745 is it's replacement. The 744 is only a 4 thread but has a large stitch program plus the chain stitch and 3 coverhems. I think that the 745 is much the same machine but it is a 5 thread model and not a 4 thread like the 744. The 744 can do a 4 thread safety stitch as one of the 17 stitches but the 745 can do a 5 thread safety stitch because of the extra thread. I read on the Elna website that the 745 has a built in converter for 2 thread serging and it also has a blanket stitch on the dial a stitch program. The 744 has a converter but it is not built into the serger. The 745 looks like a nice serger. I know that the model up from these is the 945 and is a computerized 5 thread model that takes pro cards for extra stitch programs and I believe the 945 has a speed control. I don't think the 745 has this control, I really don't remember.