Facebook Email Pinterest Twitter Instagram Tiktok Icon YouTube Icon Headphones Icon Favorite Navigation Search Icon Forum Search Icon Main Search Icon Close Icon Video Play Icon Indicator Arrow Icon Close Icon Hamburger/Search Icon Plus Icon Arrow Down Icon Video Guide Icon Article Guide Icon Modal Close Icon Guide Search Icon

Conversational Threads

Singer 7462

jilldd | Posted in General Discussion on

Hello all, I am new to sewing (and this board) and am interested in a general purpose machine for basic sewing. (Making projects out of denim to light cotton) I know there are hundreds of machines and, like everyone else, do not want to buy an unsuitable machine, which may be hard to find in the $200 price range. I am looking at a Singer 7462. Is there anyone out there that knows anything about this machine, or other comparable machines? I am currently using the top of the line “Wizard Citation” For those of you that are machine savvy, you may know this wonderful machine. (Actually sews pretty well….this is an opinion of a person that has never sewn on any other machine.)  

Thanks,

Jill

Replies

1. Alice in Atlanta | | #1

Hi Jill,  Before I buy anything I research it to death! It keeps me from having buyers remorse. I don't have thousands of dollars so I can't afford mistakes.  I recently purchased two machines through eBay. The first one was a Brother which is threaded from a cassette.  I had a lot of problems with that machine but the seller, Ken's Sew and Vac, was good about replacing it three times.  Needless to say, I don't recommend this machine.  The other was from eBay too, btw, both are re-conditioned machines which means they've gone back to the  manufacturer for repairs so should be as good as new, if not even better.