Facebook Email Pinterest Twitter Instagram Tiktok Icon YouTube Icon Headphones Icon Favorite Navigation Search Icon Forum Search Icon Main Search Icon Close Icon Video Play Icon Indicator Arrow Icon Close Icon Hamburger/Search Icon Plus Icon Arrow Down Icon Video Guide Icon Article Guide Icon Modal Close Icon Guide Search Icon

Conversational Threads

Small Problems with Many Articles in Issue 163

Bobbie1 | Posted in Talk With Us on

I have been sewing and reading Threads for many, many years, and it seems that many articles have small errors, or at least could be greatly improved by some careful editing.  For example, in Issue 163 November 2012, I have the following issues:

1.  In Kenneth D. King’s otherwise excellent Peplum Perfection article, on page 31 he mentions “adding negative space”.  He doesn’t explain what this is, so I Googled it.  Wikipedia says “Negative space, in art, is the space around and between the subject(s) of an image. Negative space may be most evident when the space around a subject, and not the subject itself, forms an interesting or artistically relevant shape, and such space is occasionally used to artistic effect as the “real” subject of an image. The use of negative space is a key element of artistic composition.”   Even with this definition, I have no idea what Kenneth is trying to say when he says “adding negative space”.

2.  In Jim Jacobson’s otherwise excellent Sewing Machine Maintenance article, on page 37 he mentions “needle bar”.  In all my years sewing, taking many sewing classes and much reading about sewing, I never came across the term “needle bar”.  Again, I Googled it, and I did find a good explanation, but with many years of experience, I should not have to Google a term to understand a Threads article.  This could have easily been made clear by adding an arrow pointing to the needle bar with the term “needle bar” at the back end of the arrow.