Facebook Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram Tiktok Icon YouTube Icon Headphones Icon Favorite Navigation Search Icon Forum Search Icon Main Search Icon Close Icon Video Play Icon Indicator Arrow Icon Close Icon Hamburger/Search Icon Plus Icon Arrow Down Icon Video Guide Icon Article Guide Icon Modal Close Icon Guide Search Icon

Conversational Threads

Viking Daisy 315 or Huskystar 207

gnatlee | Posted in Equipment and Supplies on

Hi everyone,
I am brand new to the sewing scene and would like to get a sewing machine for general purpose mending and heming.  I’ve only been able to look at a few brother, singer/kenmore/janome, and viking daisy 315 and huskystar 215 or 207.  I’m trying to limit myself to below $200.  I’ve found that in this price range, most machines are very flimsy and just doesn’t seem too durable. I am in a way attracted to viking because of reputation and the fact that it’s the only machines that i’ve been shown a demonstration on.  the viking 315 is around $350 at the local sewing machine store, and the huskystar 207 is around $199.  they’re the only ones that seem more durable.  and i have to admit that sadly, i’m superficial to judging machines by the way they look.  the viking and huskystar look the best.  although, they only have 5 or 6 basic stitch functions.  any advice from owners of these machines would be greatly appreciated.  also i’ve heard from another dealer that viking machines have a lot of problems with gears since they’re plastic.  any opinion on this?
thanks for your time.

UPDATE: