Facebook Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram Tiktok Icon YouTube Icon Headphones Icon Favorite Navigation Search Icon Forum Search Icon Main Search Icon Close Icon Video Play Icon Indicator Arrow Icon Close Icon Hamburger/Search Icon Plus Icon Arrow Down Icon Video Guide Icon Article Guide Icon Modal Close Icon Guide Search Icon

Conversational Threads

White Brand model good? 1999/565

Lucylou | Posted in General Sewing Info on

I never hear anyone mention discussion on this brand- White.  I am just starting out and do not want to spend a lot of money.  Is this comparable to Singer?  Does anyone own a 1999 or 565 version?

Thinking of buying used.

Thank you.

Replies

1. User avater
    wghmch | | #1

White has just been a brand name since about 1958 when their US factory went under. There have been some pretty decent machines and some real junk, but they have come from many different factories. Before you buy one, be sure it is checked out by a competent mechanic, just like you would do with a used car.Bill Holman

2. Teaf5 | | #2

Like Bill, I have heard of very positive and very negative experiences with White machines. It seems that any used model available would be more likely from someone who hates it; otherwise, why would he/she sell it? Even sewers who buy a fancier, more modern machine will hang onto a classic machine that works well. In addition to having it checked out, be sure to use it before buying.

3. Crazy K | | #3