Facebook Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram Tiktok Icon YouTube Icon Headphones Icon Favorite Navigation Search Icon Forum Search Icon Main Search Icon Close Icon Video Play Icon Indicator Arrow Icon Close Icon Hamburger/Search Icon Plus Icon Arrow Down Icon Video Guide Icon Article Guide Icon Modal Close Icon Guide Search Icon

Conversational Threads

Singer loyalty-What do you think?-221

bbiles | Posted in Equipment and Supplies on

Hi all,

Am I crazy to be so loyal to Singer?  I am fairly new to sewing and I love my grandmother’s old Singer Featherweight 221.  It has a great stitch.  I absolutely love this machine! I just can’t say that enough.

A few years ago I bought my first sewing machine, a basic Singer model 6416.  I have had a lot of trouble with the bobbin case.  It keeps coming loose and I have been unable to fix it myself.  I have taken it in to be fixed about five times in about 8 months.  I haven’t had to pay for the work after the 1st time it broke.  I have been taking it to the  Singer dealer.  I think I may have just bought a lemon.  But still I am considering buying a new Singer, the Qunatum9940.  I have looked at other brands but for some reason I just hate to leave Singer.  I have heard that Viking is great-but it seems very expensive. Maybe you just get what you pay for.

Would you stick with Singer or has their quality just gone down the tubes?  Thanks in advance for your experience and thoughts.

Replies

1. suesew | | #1

Just about any sewing machine company makes cheap versions of sewing machines. I think you get what you pay for. But I'd never spend my money on Singers. I'd go with the Viking.

1. bbiles | | #3

Thanks for your reply.  I think you are right.  I am going to go look at my Viking retailer and maybe Bernina.  There are so many choice out there!

2. MegVT | | #2