Facebook Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram Tiktok Icon YouTube Icon Headphones Icon Favorite Navigation Search Icon Forum Search Icon Main Search Icon Close Icon Video Play Icon Indicator Arrow Icon Close Icon Hamburger/Search Icon Plus Icon Arrow Down Icon Video Guide Icon Article Guide Icon Modal Close Icon Guide Search Icon

Conversational Threads

Using 110V 60Hz sewing machine in France

SewingEngineer | Posted in Equipment and Supplies on

I apologize if this is a 2nd posting.  I’m very new at this and don’t see my previous post.

I’m moving from the US to France for 2-3 years.  Of course, I want to bring my sewing machine.  US has 110V 60hz power and France has 220V 50Hz power.  Does anybody have experience running a sewing machine that was designed for US power by connecting through a step-down transformer connected to 220V ?   Have you had any problems?  Should I get a transformer with a voltage regulator?  I’m worried about frying my beloved Bernina.

Thanks,

Mary

Replies

1. Palady | | #1

This may read as a strange suggestion in a sense.  Would you consider posing your question to the French Embassy?

My thought is you'd be getting the information from a most relaible source.  You can consider opening the following for whatever it's worth.

http://www.ambafrance-us.org/contactus.asp

Me

1. SewingEngineer | | #4

Dear Palady,

Thank you for the suggestion.  I went to the embassy website and posed the question to them.  I'll let you know what I learn.

Mary

2. jatman | | #2

Hi Sewing Engineer!  You may want to contact Bernina to ask them this question.   I will have the opposite problem when I take my Bernina purchased in Europe home to the US later this year.  I'm hoping I can purchase a different electrical plug for it and be fine but I won't know until I ask them about it.

JT

1. SewingEngineer | | #5

Dear Jatman, Thanks for the response. I've e-mailed Bernina USA with the question.  I'll post the answer.