Facebook Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram Tiktok Icon YouTube Icon Headphones Icon Favorite Navigation Search Icon Forum Search Icon Main Search Icon Close Icon Video Play Icon Indicator Arrow Icon Close Icon Hamburger/Search Icon Plus Icon Arrow Down Icon Video Guide Icon Article Guide Icon Modal Close Icon Guide Search Icon

Conversational Threads

considering singer xl 1000 or baby lock

arlena07 | Posted in Equipment and Supplies on

Hello all,

I am relatively new to sewing and want to buy a new machine — I have an older mechanical machine and I’m ready for a serious upgrade. I definitely want a machine I can grow into and one with embroidery capabilities. Mostly, I hem pants, make skirts, curtains, table runners, just started a bit of quilting, etc.

I’ve been looking around at local dealers and I really like the Singer XL 1000 capabilities. I love the idea of embroidering and mongramming! But I’d also like a machine I can use when I begin my first quilting class in the spring. I’ve been teaching myself some basic quilting with a couple books. I’d like to add some embriodery or monogramming to my quilting projects.

Does anyone have any experience with this machine? I’d appreciate any opinions. I’ve heard there are problems with Singer customer service which scares me a bit.

One other machine in the back of my mind is a Baby Lock ellure. I’d have to buy a card reader, cards, and some software for that machine to get the monogramming and embroidery capabilities I want without upgrading to the $2600 esante (out of my price range).

If you have any other advice on a machine that you may think would fit my needs, I’d appreciate that info as well.

Thanks so much!
Laura

Replies

1. lovestosew | | #1

Hi Laura,